GTA Trilogy Definitive Edition: Missing Songs From Original Soundtrack


The new release of the GTA Trilogy – The Definitive Edition is missing songs that were on the original versions of the games. This includes both radio stations and certain mission music. A soundtrack list was released by Rockstar ahead of the trilogy’s release, but it doesn’t appear to be a comprehensive listing of all the songs in the game based on leaks of the games. Because of music rights expiring, songs have been removed from previous versions of GTA 4 already. Now, the GTA trilogy’s new remaster appears to be removing even more songs.

According to Rockstar, the GTA Trilogy will include the same radio stations as the most recent release of the games. “The iconic listings of Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy – The Definitive Edition match the most recent release of the original versions, with no new modifications, as it continues to set new records,” Rockstar claims.

What this implies is that the songs that were previously absent from the mobile ports are still missing. However, the re-release of GTA: San Andreas on PC includes a tracklist supplied by Rockstar that features Critical Beatdown by Ultramagnetic MCs, which was removed from the original PC release of GTA: San Andreas.

The removal of songs began when Vice City was launched for mobile devices in 2012; in the years since these same cuts have been forced upon PC users through a patch, and when the game was ported to PlayStation 3 and PlayStation 4, the tracks were still absent. The Sony PlayStation Portable version of Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas included many songs lost in the transition to mobile (the PC versions of the game, which did not have them, were patched).

We’ve compiled a list of the songs that were deleted from the GTA Trilogy’s Radio Stations:

Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas

  • Tom Petty – Runnin’ Down a Dream
  • Fatback Band – Yum Yum (Gimme Some)
  • The JB’s – The Grunt
  • Gap Band – You Dropped a Bomb on Me
  • Joe Cocker – Woman to Woman
  • N.W.A. – Express Yourself
  • Ozzy Osbourne – Hellraiser
  • Rage Against the Machine – Killing in the Name
  • Roy Ayers – Running Away
  • 2Pac (ft. Pogo) – I Don’t Give a Fuck
  • The Blackbyrds – Rock Creek Park
  • Black Harmony – Don’t Let It Go to Your Head
  • Blood Sisters – Ring My Bell
  • Charles Wright & the Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band – Express Yourself
  • James Brown – Funky President (People It’s Bad)
  • James Brown – The Payback

Grand Theft Auto: Vice City

  • Michael Jackson – ‘Wanna Be Starting Something’
  • Ozzy Osbourne – ‘Bark At The Moon’
  • Lionel Richie – ‘Running With The Night’
  • Aneka – ‘Japanese Boy’
  • Kate Bush – ‘Wow’
  • Michael Jackson – ‘Billie Jean’
  • Herbie Hancock – ‘Rockit’
  • Gary Numan – ‘Cars’
  • Quiet Riot – ‘Cum On Feel The Noize’
  • Afrika Bambaataa + The Soul
  • Joe Jackson – ‘Steppin’ Out’
  • Sigue Sigue Sputnik – ‘Love Missile F1-11’
  • Joe Jackson – ‘Steppin’ Out’
  • ABC – ‘Poison Arrow’
  • The Buggles – ‘Video Killed The Radio Star’
  • The Fixx – ‘One Thing Leads To Another


It’s unfortunate that the GTA Trilogy – The Definitive Edition is missing songs from the original versions of these games. It would have been great to hear these songs on the remastered versions for nostalgic purposes. It doesn’t appear that Rockstar will be adding these songs at a later date, so it’s too bad they were removed. However, Rockstar claims the songs that remain may be heard at greater fidelity: “Players will also be able to experience Grand Theft Auto in 5.1 surround sound in addition to higher quality audio at 16bit 44hrz for all of the source music from the stations as well as original ambient effects.”


We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Compare items
  • Total (0)
Shopping cart